Members of the Workforce Board

Mayor Martin J. Walsh appoints the 36 members of the business-majority Council which serves as Boston’s workforce development board, chartering the city’s career centers and overseeing federal workforce funding.

*Also members of the PIC Board of Directors


Kenneth C. Montgomery, Chair*First VP and COO, Federal Reserve Bank of Boston
Donna C. Cupelo, Treasurer & Finance Chair*Region President, Verizon
Joseph E. Aoun*President, Northeastern University
Bing BroderickExecutive Director, Haley House Bakery Café
Christine CarmodySenior Vice President, Human Resources, Eversource Energy
Dan CartonDirector, Human Resources, Tufts Medical Center
Roxann CookeSenior Vice President & Regional Manager, Eastern Bank
Tracey FlahertySenior Vice President, Government Relations, Natixis Global Asset Management
Sophia HolderVice President of Finance, Boston Children's Hospital
Greg JaneyPresident, Janey Construction Management & Consulting
Michael JorgensenGeneral Manager, The Westin Boston Waterfront
Denise KornPresident and CEO, Korn Design
Jeffrey M. Leiden*CEO and President, Vertex Pharmaceuticals
Wanda McClainVice President, Community Health and Health Equity, Brigham and Women's Hospital
Michael O'NeillEVP, New Business Development, Agency 451
Zorica PantićPresident, Wentworth Institute of Technology
John PepperCEO & Co-Founder, Boloco
Joanne PokaskiDirector of Workforce Development, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
James RooneyPresident & CEO, Greater Boston Chamber of Commerce
MJ RyanDirector, Workforce Development, Partners HealthCare
George E. Sullivan*Executive Vice President, State Street Corporation


James WhalenSenior Vice President and CIO, Boston Properties
John DrewPresident and Chief Executive Officer, Action for Boston Community Development
Toni ElkaExecutive Director and Founder, Future Chefs


William McGonagleAdministrator, Boston Housing Authority
Joan PhillipsAssistant Commissioner, Massachusetts Rehabilitation Commission
Emily SheaCommissioner, Elderly Affairs, City of Boston
Steven TompkinsSheriff, Suffolk County
Marina ZhavoronkovaAssistant Secretary, Executive Office of Labor & Workforce Development


Laura Perille*Interim Superintendent, Boston Public Schools
Pam Y. Eddinger*President, Bunker Hill Community College
Valerie R. Roberson*President, Roxbury Community College


Harneen ChernowDirector, 1199 SEIU Training & Upgrading Fund
Marie DowneyExecutive Director, Boston Education, Skills & Training (BEST) Corp.
Jessica TangPresident, Boston Teachers Union
Steven A. TolmanPresident, Massachusetts AFL-CIO


The Workforce Development Committee and the Youth Council make spending recommendations on adult and youth service dollars to the full workforce board.

Workforce Development Committee

Harneen Chernow, 1199SEIU Training & Upgrading Fund

Karla Acevedo, Suffolk County Sheriff’s Department 

Dave Bassett, Operation ABLE

Kate Bennett, Boston Housing Authority

Joanne Pokaski, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center

James Sutherland, Greater Boston Chamber of Commerce

Jill Reynolds, Public Consulting Group

MJ Ryan, Partners HealthCare

Marina Zhavoronkova, Executive Office of Labor and Workforce Development

Youth Council

Michael O’Niell, 451 Agency

True-see Allah, Suffolk County Sheriff’s Department

Rashad Cope, Department of Youth Engagement and Employment

Ed Frechette, UTEC

Ferdinand Fuentes, Director of Educational Options

Rachel Goodman, Boston Housing Authority

Lyle Hamm, Carpenters’ Apprenticeship and Training Fund

Phil Jackson, Boston After School and Beyond

Verena Niederhofer, East Boston Neighborhood Health Center

Marcella Raines, More Than Words

Dan O’Sullivan, MA Department of Youth Services

William Spring, Retired